Massive crowd attends Claremorris Duathlon

Only in its 4th year the Land of the Giants Duathlon is gradually making a name for its self as the event to be attending post Christmas. Over 250 athletes participated in conditions that can only be described as atrocious, talking to participants after the event “most said the hardest part was making the decision to travel and take part, once we were here the buzz and atmosphere made it easy”.

Westport athletes lead the way in Claremorris with the top 4 all from Westport clubs, Anthony Murray Multisport AM who took a break from duathlon racing a few years back to concentrate on bike racing made a triumphant return, he did all the damage on the bike where he recorded the fastest bike split.

2013 winner Irish International Triathlete Aichlinn O Reilly made life difficult for Murray keeping the pressure on him right to the line. The Race 24hr man Sean Mc Laughlin Westport completed the podium.

Duathlon racing is attracting more ladies than ever with nearly half the entries made up of women, Ironwoman Lorraine Carey Liquid motion Ballina won clearly from local woman Paula Prendergast with young Emiear Harrison Westport in 3rd place.

There was a huge entry in the Over 40’s & 50’s category but it was disappointing to see a small turnout in the junior categories.

Chamber of Commerce acting president Jimmy Flynn was delighted with the huge turnout saying ” its brilliant for the town to have people travel here from all over Ireland, we try to make their stay as enjoyable as possible and its a great boost to the local economy”.

The prize winners for the 2015 LOTG Duathlon

1st: Anthony Murray, Multisport AM – 52:57
2nd: Aichlinn O Reilly, Westport Tri – 53:21
3rd: Sean McLoughlin, Westport Tri – 54:37
Junior: Cian Geraghty, Trisport.
O40: Noel Gibbons, Western Lakes CC.
O50: John Brady, Kilconly CC.
O60: John Jennings, Manulla.
1st Local: Darragh Delaney, Claremorris.

The winning men, an unbeatable field from Westport. Anthony Murray 1st, Aichlinn O Reilly 2nd and Sean McLoughlin in 3rd.

1st: Lorraine Carey, Liquid Motion, Ballina – 1:02:27
2nd: Paula Prendergast, Claremorris – 1:06:08
3rd: Eimear Harrison, Multisport Westport- 1:06:53
Junior lady: Eimear Harrison.
O40: Colette Sweeney, Westport Leisure Park.
O50: Cathy Regan, Tubbercurry, Sligo.

The winning ladies, 1st Lorraine Carey,2nd Paula Prendergast and 3rd Eimear Harrison.

1st: Team A (Prendergast and Walsh)
2nd: Western Lakes CC (Reilly and Jennings)

Thanks to our sponsors with our main Sponsors been Dixon& Dever Project Development Services.

Support Sponsors
The McWilliam park hotel
Flynn’s Pharmacy
Waldron & Associates Architects
Colette Jordan and Associates Architectural Engineering & Energy Consulting.
Aurivo Goodness sports nutrition recovery shake.
Claremorris Leisure Center

This event would not take place without the help of Claremorris Chamber of Commerce, Mc Mahon park committee, Mayo Co Co and the road safety authority, Claremorris Men’s shed group, The Red Cross and Claremorris Cycling club and Core Timing.

Thanks again to all the participants without you there would be no event.

Check out the event video here:

[youtube id="WxQ4JpJ10yY"]


Next Raceface event is Ballinrobe Duathlon on February 13th.