Ireland West Duathlon Series

Ireland West Duathlon Series 2016 Final League standings


Consistent Conway takes inaugural Ireland West Duathlon Series

Westport Triathlon club man Brendan Conway added the Ireland West Duathlon series to his long list of achievements.

The series kicked off in Claremorris with the Christmas Land of the Giants Duathlon where Anthony Murray Multisport Westport took the victory, that day Conway finished 4th.

With over 500 participants taking part in one or more of the rounds throughout the series, each race had a different winner and participants came from all over the country, there were some tightly fought battles between some of the Club/Teams.

The age categories section proved very competitive especially the over 40 category with a huge battle in the men’s section right to the end of the series.

Tri Lakes TC promoted Rd 2 in Knockma, this duathlon was held at the end of January with Cavan Triathlete Killian Heery first across the line as Conway finished 3rd.

In mid-February Ballinrobe hosted Rd 3 this time Conway hit peak form leading from start to finish cresting the tape first.

Round 4 was staged in Cong using part of the beautiful Ashford castle grounds this event attracted a top class field as it was part of the National series, a dip in form saw Conway finish 4th with John Greaney of the Hurt Locker team Galway winning.

The last round, the longest of the series in Castlebar on March 19th looked like the Westport man would take his 2nd win but a determined Peter Tuohy, J2P, Castlebar gained enough time on the bike stage to hold Conway off on the run to record a superb win.

Holding form for 3 months showed super consistency, Brendan’s next big Goal is Ironman Barcelona out in October it will be a big change from the short distance duathlons so he will defiantly have a change to his training schedule routines.

Jonathon Rowland, Liquid Motion, Ballina pushed Conway all the way and is sure to have a great Triathlon season after a determined display, David Conway, Multisport,Westport put in a tremendous performance using the last event to climb on to the overall podium.

The 5 event series was sponsored by Marrey bikes Ballinrobe; the cycle super store is gradually making a name for itself as one of the best on line and cycle stores in the country.

In the ladies category Ballina Ironwoman Lorraine Carey nearly took a clean sweep winning 4 out of 5 races.
She even placed 4th overall a super achievement. It won’t be long before she hits the national and maybe international headlines such is her talent.

The team classification proved popular, clubs had to have 3 finishers on the day to record a score, Multisport AM Westport did their homework having at least 4 finishers in all 5 races to win this category, Western Lakes CC won 4 out of the 5 rounds but lost out heavily by now having the required number of teams members at round 2, Liquid Motion Tri club Ballina rounded of the podium.

The series presentation will take place on March 25th when cycling legend Stephen Roche will present the prizes, the Giro, Tour and Worlds winner is only one of two men ever to win the cycling Triple Crown. A great evening is in store.

Series winners

1st Brendan Conway, Westport Triathlon Club
2nd Jonathon Rowland, Liquid Motion, Ballina
3rd David Conway, Multisport, Westport
4th Lorraine Carey, Liquid Motion, Ballina
5th Darragh Delaney, Annagh Wheelers

Over 40
1st Darragh Delaney, Annagh Wheelers
2nd David Delaney, Annagh Wheelers
3rd Noel McGourty, Westport CC

Over 50
1st Sean Lyons, Achill wheelers

1st Lorraine Carey, Liquid Motion, Ballina
2nd Colette Sweeney, Multisport, Westport
3rd Carole Fabby, Multisport, Westport
4th Ericka Murray, Sligo
5th Cathriona Grady, Multisport, Westport

Over 40
Colette Sweeney, Multisport, Westport

Over 50
Cathy Regan, Tubbercurry

1st Multisport, Westport
2nd Western Lakes, CC
3rd Liquid Motion. Ballina

RankClub Overall 
2Western Lakes CC20,879
3Liquid Motion18,169
4Westport TC16,375
5Galway TC11,341
6Annagh Wheelers9,578
7Castlebar CC8,266
8Tri Lakes TC4,739
9Oasis ITLR3,498


Relay Team:
Paul Phillips and Jerry Towey Western Lakes CC

Fastest Bike Split
Jerry Towey Western Lakes CC

Prizes sponsored by Marrey Bikes Ballinrobe

Padraig Marrey
Bike Fitting Specialist
Event organiser 

Ireland West Duathlon Series Overall 2016

To be included in the overall series, participants had to participate in 3 or more events.

1Brendan ConwayWestport TriM20-3997898310009789904929
2Rowland JonathanLiquid MotionM20-399719789909719784888
3David ConwayMultisportM20-399659689689689714840
4Lorraine CareyLiquid MotionF20-399639719649669744838
5Darragh DelaneyAnnagh WhlM40-499679659619599654817
6David DelaneyAnnagh WhlM40-499399649639649674797
7Conor GillWestern LakesM20-399339599479519634753
8Michael SavageYeatesM20-399369549429409524724
9Darren QuinnCorofinM20-399279489329479424696
10Noel McGourtyWestport CCM40-499309479309379504694
11Colette SweeneyMultisportF40-499289499269299494681
12Murt CooneyKilconly CCM40-499109449089289434633
13Fergus KellySligoM20-398829418989269364583
14Sean LyonsAchill WhlrsM50-598989348959199134559
15Declan HylandLongford TriM20-399029458098099414406
16Stephen GilganSligoM40-498219208529019014395
17Alan WattersSligoM40-498329178588589034368
18Carole FabbyMultisportF40-498259038338988984357
19Ericka MurrayF20-398159198169038954348
20Emmett MurphyCastlebar CCM20-397789068368918974308
21Micheal HessionGalway TriM40-4996609669659693866
22John McHughWestport TriM20-3909669599579593841
23Ray McNamaraLiquid MotionM20-3909629539429643821
24Phillips ToweyWestern LakesTeam Male95109489539573809
25Michael DurkanMultisportM40-4992295193493203739
26Enda LonerganMultisportM40-4909389039129283681
27Cathriona Grady LambertMultisportF40-4989792488909173627
28Brian GoldenWestern LakesM40-4988608979139313627
29Gerry SheridanWestern LakesM40-4987108789089143571
30Angela CorduffMultisportF20-3982090986809023499
31Gerry CorleyCastlebar CCM40-4979208238888913394
32Jerome VarleyWestern LakesM20-3978190482608793390
33Martin BrennanMultisportM40-4977690180480403285
34Edward ScanlonAchill WhlrsM40-4975289276976903182
35Peter TuohyJ2PM20-390990097410002964
36Siobhan MurtaghLough Key TriF20-39096796596002892
37Sean MurphyAnnagh WhlM40-49955095895002863
38Matthew GillWestern LakesM20-399410955o9612857
39RONAN O'HALLORANGalway Bay CCM20-39940956931002827
40John ConroyWestern LakesM40-49923094095202815
41Peter CorcoranMultisportM20-39009219309542805
42Aodhan McAleerM20-399180937o9452800
43Michael CannonWestern LakesM40-49929091893602783
44Mark MasseyCastlebarM40-49008999179322748
45Ollie KellyWestern LakesM40-49907091192402742
46Aine McAlpineIslandeadyF20-39894089109262711
47Brendan TunneyMultisportM40-49885088409202689
48Mattie DonnellonBallinrobe DuathlonM50-59866932887002685
49Carmel CoyneGalway TriF40-49873927879002679
50Paula O'NeillWestern LakesF20-39092286308852670
51Angie HughesBallinrobe DuathlonF20-39090785489202653
52Michael MoranM40-49867088009042651
53Earnan NaughtonWestern LakesM40-49862086989502626
54Lorraine TonerCastlebar CCF20-39089880608872591
55Claire WalshF20-39806910845002561
56Adrain FlanneryWestern LakesM20-39799902843002544
57Simon FabbyMultisportM50-59793896796002485
58Cathy ReganTubbercurryF50-59797079908762472
59Siobhan O MalleyF40-49774081088502469
60Kenneth CartySligoM40-49787079008882465
61Conal SadlerWestport CCM20-39823075908752457
62J.P. HughesM40-49756078988302428
63Karen ReganF20-39749076787802394
64Sinead TiernanBallinrobe DuathlonF40-49736077787302386